High ISO Black & Whites (in RAW!)

I felt like processing some black & white photos today.  I took a few shots of the girls today in RAW mode for the first time ever!  I’ve been putting it off for a while now, but I’ve been wanting to try it out.  Almost every photography publication and professional out there encourages shooting in RAW mode because of the flexibility one has during processing.  I’ve read that some of the detail can get lost because JPEG files are compressed.  There are benefits and drawbacks to the RAW vs. JPEG argument, but I decided to RAW a try.  The biggest downside is that RAW files are enormous!

These aren’t the best photos to show the benefits of shooting in RAW mode, especially regarding detail.  I used a high ISO, so there’s some grain in these, but I thought processing them in B&W seemed appropriate.

f/1.4, 1/250 sec, ISO-800

~

f/1.4, 1/250 sec, ISO-800

~

One thought on “High ISO Black & Whites (in RAW!)

Leave a Reply

