Flowers

I know it’s been done before (many times over), but I decided to try my hand at photographing flowers indoors.  I was inspired by Scott Kelby’s directions in The Digital Photography Book (you can see mini-summaries of my favorite photography books in this post).  It was fun setting up a backdrop by the window while trying to make the most of the available natural light.  I used the backside of black crushed velvet and set it up right next to a window.  I used a simple bunch of flowers from the grocery store, because the flower store was closed the day I bought them.  I tried to use my tripod, but the angle and height were a little difficult to deal with, so I hand-held a lot of shots.  I made a few post-processing edits, and voila! 

f/1.4, 1/30 sec., ISO-400

~

f/1.8, 1/40 sec., ISO-200

 ~

f/1.8, 1/40 sec., ISO-200

~

4 thoughts on “Flowers

    • Thanks, Carrie! I know it’s a pain to read through boring things like camera manuals, but it really does increase the possibilities for what you can do! You’ve got such a great eye, anyway, so I think it will just make things more fun for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

