Photo Editing: Under the Weather

Not only am I a little obsessed with taking pictures, but I’m always in an anxious rush to get home to edit them.  I’m on a self-assigned mission to figure out how to edit my photographs in a style that’s my own and that looks natural but has a little wow factor.  Like I said, I’m still learning…

My daughter, Kariya, was not in school Friday, because she didn’t feel great.  I decided to take her for a short walk to get some fresh air, but you can tell from her eyes and face that she had seen brighter and more vibrant days.  She wasn’t really in the mood to have her picture taken, and even though I really wanted to get in a day of practice, I could tell it wasn’t going to be a great picture-taking day for me, either.  After about 40 snapshots, we called it a day. 

I was immediately drawn to this picture, though.  I really like the intense look she has in her eyes, and because of the day and her condition, it really gave me something to practice my editing skills on.

Kariya (before and after)

I did quite a few edits on this one.  I sharpened and adjusted layers, then I used the high-pass filter again on her eyes to bring them out a bit more, also whitening her eyes a tad.  I’m new to skin softening, but I gave it a try here.  I went a little over on her right cheek where the hair touches her face where it’s a little blurry.  It bugs me a little, but I didn’t catch it in time to reverse it easily.  I intentionally left it centered, though I would normally crop it to follow the rule of thirds.  Having this one centered works for me.

Kariya, after the edit

~

Here are a few resources I like for photo editing:

Leave a Reply

